Select Page

FADGI Image Performance Report

The FADGI Guidelines (Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative) define numerical ranges for performance of digital capture equipment used in federal institutions such as the Library of Congress. Because of it’s extensively researched criterium and emphasis on practical analysis these guidelines are used in many non-government settings. The guidelines define four tiers of quality: 1-star, 2-star, 3-star, and 4-star. To attain a certain tier of quality the digital capture equipment must demonstrably and consistently exceed a variety of quality metrics.

The Digital Transitions Department of Cultural Heritage focuses on producing solutions which meet or exceed all criterium for a four-star FADGI assessment. This requires exceptionally high sampling efficiency (a.k.a. sharpness), very low chroma errors (a.k.a. color accuracy), high light uniformity (a.k.a. very even lighting) and nearly zero color misregistration.

Below are example reports from showing the Phase One IQ4 150mp digital back exceeding the Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative (FADGI) 4-Star Guidelines.

Additional reports below show our systems also exceed the Metamorfoze imaging standards, a European effort less commonly used in the United States and in less active development than FADGI.

FADGI Details


FADGI Summary

Metamorofoze Details